Internet Cookies (Bronze)Covering Your Tracks

You can take the following steps to help prevent any one knowing you have visited this website.

The safest way for you to view this website would be at a library, a friend’s house or at work. You should also be careful if your abuser has access to your email account.

Quick guide to deleting browser cookies  :  Quick guide to deleting browser history

Remember, you may not want people to know that you have been seeking advice or help from the WAITS website.

When you use the internet on any device, you leave a ‘history’ trail of pages and websites that you visit.

It’s impossible to completely avoid your online history, but if you’re worried about someone knowing what you have been looking at, there are some things you can do to help cover your tracks.

Get Safe Online logo

Delete your browsing history

While you can delete the history of web pages you have visited, remember also that if you delete your history, someone else using the same device may notice.

If you share a tablet, mobile phone, laptop or computer with someone, they may notice that passwords or web addresses etc, have disappeared from the device history.

The safest way to view this website would be at a library, a friend’s house or at work.

Find out how to delete your browsing history from the most commonly used internet browsers:

Search Toolbars

If you use a search toolbar in your web browser, also remember that your searches can also be saved as part of this history.

See details about how to delete your searched items from the following search engines:

Use your email safely

You should also be careful if your abuser has access to your email account, they may be able to read your incoming and outgoing mail.

If you believe your account may have been compromised or is insecure make sure you choose a strong password they will not be able to guess.

If you contact WAITS using your personal email, you could take the following precautions:

  • Go to your ‘sent’ or ‘outgoing’ email folder and delete the email you sent
  • Also go to your ‘deleted files’ or ‘trash’ folder and find the email. Delete it here as well

This will permanently delete any record of an email that you have sent us.

If an abuser sends you threatening or harassing email messages, these may be printed and/or saved as evidence of their abuse.

See our page on ‘Domestic Violence & Law’ Please click here.